Posted in Thoughts

Choose to be happy

My nation is tearing itself apart in the wake of the EU referendum. Regardless of how you voted, whether or not you believe predictions or view what is happening economically as a necessary short term blip or the beginning of years of recession, whether you are left or right, young or old, we all deserve to be treated with respect. That means no abuse – verbal, actual, online or otherwise. No scorn or derision or belittling the choices others made.

Sadly, a significant minority of people can’t handle that. They are clearly enjoying the hatred, the scaremongering, the vilification of neighbours and people who share this country. I am reminded of the Charles R Swindoll quote ‘Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it’. Also that adage about knowing what you can’t change. So I recognise that I can’t change either the result of this referendum, the fact it was called, how it was fought or the viciousness of the aftermath. But I can choose to react to it all in a different way. I can, in fact, choose to be happy.

I choose to take part in activities that give me satisfaction and fulfilment. Last night I made cakes with The Boss after she got home from nursery. Today I get to go and interview someone new for the blog (super exciting, I can’t wait to write it!) AND I am going to an audience panel with the Young Women’s Trust tonight. And if that wasn’t enough, I’m finishing the night with a quick  catch up over some beer with a friend I’ve not seen in a while.

For the rest of the week (in addition to all I’m doing in preparation for the Vanilla Monkey Creations launch), I’m going to do things just for the pleasure of them. I’m going to do a bit more knitting. I’m going to run (half marathon training started!) and treat myself to a bubble bath afterwards. I’m going to eat good food, go glamping with my lovely family this weekend and drink some great wine. How will I find the time, you say? Easy. I’m going to give up Facebook for a few days, in the hope that when I return, the vile bitterness may have reduced.

During this bitter time, I hope that you also choose to be happy and react with dignity to the chaos others are choosing. We are all in this together and whilst we can’t change the macro picture, we can choose to be happy in our day-to-day lives. Or not. The choice is yours.

Happy venturing xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

